Who received the Pritzker Architecture Prize in 2015?

Who received the Pritzker Architecture Prize in 2015?

Frei Otto
German architect and engineer Frei Otto has been named as recipient of the 2015 Pritzker Architecture Prize. The announcement comes some two weeks ahead of plan, as Otto died Monday, sadly, and the Pritzker is awarded only to living architects.

How much is the Pritzker prize?

The laureate receives $100,000 and also a bronze medallion. The bronze medallion awarded to each Laureate of the Pritzker Architecture Prize is based on designs of Louis Sullivan, famed Chicago architect generally acknowledged as the father of the skyscraper. On one side is the name of the prize.

Who received the Pritzker Architecture Prize in 2021?

Anne Lacaton
The 2021 Pritzker Architecture Prize, architecture’s highest honor, has been granted to Anne Lacaton and Jean-Philippe Vassal, founders of Lacaton & Vassal, the French duo renowned for their multiple sustainable housing projects and for the Palais de Tokyo, a contemporary art gallery in Paris.

What is the Pritzker prize and what is its purpose?

The purpose of the Pritzker Architecture Prize is to honor a living architect or architects whose built work demonstrates a combination of talent, vision, and commitment; and has produced consistent and significant contributions to humanity and the built environment through the art of architecture.

Why did Zaha Hadid win the Pritzker Architecture Prize?

This year, Zaha Hadid, an Iraqi-born Briton who has pushed the boundaries of design for a quarter-century, becomes the first woman to receive the prestigious honor. Pritzker juror Rolf Fehlbaum says: “Without ever building, Zaha Hadid would have radically expanded architecture’s repertoire of spatial articulation.

Who won the first Pritzker Prize?

Philip Johnson
Inaugural winner Philip Johnson was cited “for 50 years of imagination and vitality embodied in a myriad of museums, theaters, libraries, houses, gardens and corporate structures”.

Who won the Pritzker prize this year?


Year Laureate(s) Nationality
2018 B. V. Doshi India
2019 Arata Isozaki Japan
2020 Yvonne Farrell and Shelley McNamara Ireland
2021 Anne Lacaton and Jean-Philippe Vassal France

Which of the following architects have won the Pritzker prize?


Year Laureate(s) Award ceremony location
2014 Shigeru Ban Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam
2015 Frei Otto New World Center, Miami
2016 Alejandro Aravena United Nations Headquarters, New York City
2017 Rafael Aranda, Carme Pigem, and Ramón Vilalta Akasaka Palace, Tokyo

Who was the first woman to win the Pritzker?

Zaha Hadid
Zaha Hadid, an Iraqi born British citizen has been chosen as the 2004 Laureate of the Pritzker Architecture Prize marking the first time a woman has been named for this 26 year old award.

Who gets the Pritzker prize?

Social housing architects Anne Lacaton and Jean-Philippe Vassal, founders of French studio Lacaton & Vassal, have been named the 2021 winners of the Pritzker Architecture Prize.

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top