What are Pokemon regions named after?

What are Pokemon regions named after?

The first four regions are based on smaller regions in Japan, Unova and Alola are based on parts of the United States, Kalos is based on France, and Galar is based on the United Kingdom. It is said the inspiration for Orre is Phoenix, Arizona.

What are the 7 Pokemon regions?

Currently, in the main series of games and anime show, there are nine known regions: Kanto, Johto, Hoenn, Sinnoh, Hisui, Unova, Kalos, Alola and Galar. Additionally, in the Pokémon side games, seven other regions are currently known: Orre, Fiore, Almia, Ransei, Ferrum, Oblivia, Pasio and Lental.

What are the 8 regions of Pokémon?


  • Johto.
  • Hoenn.
  • Sinnoh.
  • Unova.
  • Kalos.
  • Alola.
  • Galar.
  • What are hoenn cities named after?

    It was the third core series region to be introduced. Hoenn is inspired by the real-world Japanese main island of Kyushu. The names of most of the cities in Hoenn are made of two words put together (Little Root, Fort Tree, Slate Port, Ever Grande, etc.) rather than colors or plants as Kanto and Johto had done.

    What place is Galar based on?

    the United Kingdom
    The privacy and security policies differ. The Galar region is heavily inspired by the United Kingdom. Pokémon Sword and Pokémon Shield draw cues from the locations, culture, and history of the UK to create a land full of places to explore.

    Is Kalos connected to Kanto?

    This concept is similar to the regions of Japan, which the Pokémon world has been modeled after, and from which the Pokémon nation’s Kanto region takes its name. Unova, Kalos, Alola and Galar are known to be located far away from Kanto and Johto, and as such they may not be part of this country.

    What is the 9th Pokémon region?

    Pokemon Gen 9 is a fanmade (article) version of the 9th generation of Pokemon. In the fictional Skaphosian region. It’s a european like region but it is completely fanmade and non-existent (however some areas are inspired from parts of countries). The region has several kingdoms with a capital city/town/village.

    What are Johto cities named after?

    Most of the towns in Johto are named in reference to plants and associated nature, like New Bark Town, Olivine City, and Mahogany Town. Players here were presented the choice of starters Cyndaquil, Totodile, and Chikorita.

    What Gen is Kanto?

    first generation
    Kanto is the setting of the first generation of games and can be explored in generations II, III, IV, and VII. Professor Oak is the resident Pokémon Professor and gives Pokémon Trainers a choice between Bulbasaur, Charmander, or Squirtle as their starter Pokémon.

    What is Glimwood tangle based on?

    Glimwood Tangle, Ballonlea = Sherwood Forest, Nottingham The locations roughly match and it would make sense for one of the only forests in the game to be based on one of the most well-known.

    What place is Johto based off of?

    Pokémon regions historically reflect real-life locations. Kanto, Johto, Hoenn, and Sinnoh are all based on regions in Japan (the IRL Kanto, Kansai, Kyūshū, and Hokkaido, respectively). Unova, meanwhile, is based on the United States, with a particular focus on New York City, Kalos on France, and Alola on Hawaii.

    What are the names of the Pokemon regions?

    Currently, in the main series of games, there are seven known regions (Kanto, Johto, Hoenn, Sinnoh, Unova, Kalos, and Alola). Additionally, in the Pokémon side games, five other regions are currently known; Orre, Fiore, Almia, Ransei, and Oblivia.

    What are all the Pokemon regions in order?

    They are, in order of appearance, Kanto, Johto, Hoenn, Sinnoh, Unova, Kalos, and Alola. Each region has been the setting of at least two games in the generation in which it debuts. Most regions are structured similarly. Typically, a region has its own Pokémon League which includes eight Gym Leaders.

    How many Pokemon are there in all the regions?

    In the main 7 regions there are 7 generations of pokemon which includes all 719 pokemon species. The pokemon regions are based on a real country or state. Sinnoh, Kanto, Sevil islands, Johto and Hoenn are based on states of japan. The Unova region is based on new York and new jersey.

    What are the different Pokemon regions?

    Regions are an organized areas of the Pokémon world known from previous games about Pokémon such as games from core series. In Pokémon GO there are currently only five regions referred, which are Kanto, Johto, Hoenn, Alola and Sinnoh.

    Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

    Back To Top