Is there a national livestock brand registry?
The register contains drawings of livestock brands and the correlating owners’ names. Arranged alphabetically by name.
How do I make my own livestock brand?
To be legal and official, you need to register your brand with your state’s department of agriculture. To make a brand, you can use any combination of capital letters, numbers and symbols (like circles and hash marks).
How do I find my livestock brand?
Records show the brand symbol, name and county of residence of the person registering the mark, location on the body of the animal, and date the brand was recorded. A Google search on your ancestors’ state name and livestock board or cattle brand should point you in the direction of the records.
How do you certify a cattle brand?
To record a livestock brand, please complete the enclosed application signed in ink by the applicant or applicants and return it to the Department of Food and Agriculture with the $70.00 recording fee.
How do I get livestock brand in Utah?
A brand application must be submitted to the Department of Agriculture and Food along with the registration fee for each position that is being registered. The application can be submitted using this form. After the application has been processed and the brand approved you will receive a brand card in the mail.
How do you register a horse brand?
What is a brand inspection?
A brand inspector checks brands on livestock as well as official documentation, such as shipping manifests and bills of sales, to confirm lawful ownership when animals are sold. These professionals also record the type and number of livestock shipped to catch theft or illegal branding.
How much does it cost to register a brand in Utah?
Brand inspections are required by Utah law when livestock are changing ownership, going to slaughter or leaving the state….BACKGROUND.
|Brand Renewal and Registration
|Certified Copy of Recording (new brand card)
Is branding a horse illegal?
In the United States, branding was traditionally used by ranchers in the west to identify their stock when cattle were left to graze in open land. Hot branding is legal in the U.S. and is still done on horses on some ranches.
What do I need for a brand inspection?
If you are going to obtain a Brand Inspection, the certified veterinarian will require proof of ownership, i.e. bill of sale, registration papers, etc., to complete the paperwork. For more information, contact your veterinarian, or the Washington State Department of Agriculture in Olympia.
What states require a brand inspection?
States that require Brand inspections South Dakota, Montana, Idaho, Wyoming, Nevada, Colorado, Utah, (Livestock only equine exempt) California, Nebraska, Washington.
How do I get a brand inspection in Utah?
Please call your local Brand Inspector at least 24 hours in advance to schedule an inspection. Brand inspections are conducted only during daylight hours. Transportation Rule – Owner/Transporter must have an official Brand Inspection Certificate or other acceptable proof of ownership in his/her possession.