How many units is senior science?

How many units is senior science?

Senior Schooling consists of the Stage 6 Curriculum studied during Years 11 and 12. All students must study at least four different subjects totalling a minimum of 12 Units in Year 11 and 10 Units in Year 12 including 2 units of English. The English courses offered at Fort Street are Advanced or Extension courses.

What type of science is math?

Mathematics, in the broadest sense, is just a synonym of formal science; but traditionally mathematics means more specifically the coalition of four areas: arithmetic, algebra, geometry, and analysis, which are, roughly speaking, the study of quantity, structure, space, and change respectively.

What do year 10 do in English?

You will develop your reading, writing, speaking and listening skills through studying a variety of literary and non-fiction texts. These include: Non-fiction texts, including from the 19th Century • Prose texts • Creative Writing • Using spoken language.

What biology modules are in the HSC?

This guide will go through each of the four core modules of Year 12 Biology:

  • Heredity. Reproduction and Cell Replication. DNA and Polypeptide Synthesis.
  • Genetic Change. Mutation. Biotechnology.
  • Infectious Disease. Causes of Infectious Disease. Responses to Pathogens and Immunity.
  • Non-infectious Disease and Disorders. Homeostasis.

Is investigating science the same as senior science?

What is Investigating Science? Investigating Science is a new HSC course for NSW students beginning in 2018. It concerns all aspects and disciplines of Science, however, unlike other science courses, the focus is on developing scientific skills needed in practising Science.

How many units of science can you do for the HSC?

From 2018 students will continue to be able to study six units of Science in Year 11 and for the 2019 HSC exam students can study up to seven units of Science in Year 12.

What is the Year 8 science curriculum?

Gas exchange and the human breathing system, effects of drugs, nutrition & digestion, food tests. Elements, atoms, compounds, formulae, polymers, the periodic table with a focus on alkali metals, halogens and noble gases.

What is the science syllabus?

Science is mandatory for all students from Kindergarten to Year 10 and is articulated through the Science and Technology K-6 Syllabus (2017) and Science 7-10 Syllabus (2018). Science provides a way of inquiring about the world around us.

What syllabuses do schools use in New South Wales?

Schools in New South Wales use NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) K–6 syllabuses . Click below to view a syllabus in full .

Are there any materials available to support the implementation of the syllabuses?

There are a range of materials available to support implementation of the syllabuses including sample scope and sequences, units and assessment activities. The information for English, Mathematics, Science and History in the Years 7–10 Syllabus Course Descriptions has been updated to reflect the requirements and content of the new syllabuses.

Where can I find information about public education in NSW?

Information about NSW public education, including the school finder, high school enrolment, school safety, selective schools and opportunity classes. NSW Department of Education’s information on curriculum taught in NSW schools, Aboriginal education and communities & personalised support.

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top