Who won the 2014 World Darts Championship?

Who won the 2014 World Darts Championship?

Michael van Gerwen
Michael van Gerwen won his first World Championship by defeating Peter Wright 7–4 in the final. He became the sixth winner of the event and, at the age of 24, the youngest….2014 PDC World Darts Championship.

2014 Ladbrokes World Darts Championship
Tournament information
Winner’s share £250,000
Nine-dart finish Terry Jenkins Kyle Anderson

Who won the BDO Darts championship?

Wayne Warren won his first world title with a 7–4 win over fellow Welshman Jim Williams in the final. He became the oldest player ever to win a world title….2020 BDO World Darts Championship.

BDO World Darts Championship
Tournament information
Winner’s share £23,000 (men) £10,000 (women)

What happened to the BDO darts world championship?

In September 2020, the BDO went into liquidation and the 2021 was officially scrapped. Last year was the first without a BDO World Darts Championship since 1978.

Is there a BDO World Darts Championship?

The BDO World Darts Championship was a world championship competition in darts, organised by the British Darts Organisation (BDO). It was held 43 times from 1978 to 2020….BDO World Darts Championship.

BDO World Professional Darts Championship
Tournament information
Prize fund £164,000 (2020)
Month(s) Played January
Final Year 2020

Did Peter Wright win the darts tonight?

So just to recap, Peter Wright is the winner of the 2022 PDC World Darts Championship following a 7-5 win over Michael Smith. You can find SunSport’s full final report here, after Wright prevailed over a distraught Smith.

Why are there 2 darts World Championships?

Between 1994 and 2020, each organisation held its own version of the World Professional Darts Championship. The split was prompted by the game’s big decline in television coverage in 1989 and the early 1990s, and by what the players saw as the BDO’s inability to reverse that decline.

Whats happened to the BDO?

The BDO suffered an increasing number of problems in its later years. Many of its top players defected to the more lucrative PDC. Irregularities at the 2019 World Masters led to the BDO being demoted to associate member status by the World Darts Federation. The BDO subsequently went into liquidation in September 2020.

Which is better PDC or BDO?

The Differences Between the BDO and the PDC No player could manage a 100+ average in the BDO championship, however. The PDC tends to attract the higher quality players thanks to more prize money and sponsorship opportunities generally being offered.

When did PDC overtake BDO?

In the 2002 PDC World Darts Championship, the total prize fund of the PDC version overtook the BDO event for the first time.

Is the BDO darts finished?

The British Darts Organisation (BDO) was a darts organisation founded on 7 January 1973 by Olly Croft. Made up of 66 member counties, it oversaw professional, semi-professional and amateur darts competitions in Britain. The BDO subsequently went into liquidation in September 2020.

Who won the PDC darts 2021?

Peter Wright produces stunning finish to come back from 5-4 down to beat Michael Smith 7-5 and land his second World Darts Championship title at Alexandra Palace.

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top