What towns are in South West Donegal?

What towns are in South West Donegal?

It was located in the southern and western parts of County Donegal, it included the towns of Lifford, Donegal, Ballyshannon, Killybegs and Gweedore.

What to do in South West Donegal?

Top attractions

  • Natural Feature. Sliabh Liag. The Cliffs of Moher get more publicity, but the cliffs of Sliabh Liag are higher.
  • Beach. Maghera Strand.
  • Viewpoint. Glengesh Pass.
  • Beach. Tramore Beach.
  • Distillery. Sliabh Liag Distillers.
  • Island. Iniskeel Island.
  • Beach. Fintragh Bay.
  • Museum. Studio Donegal.

Is Donegal town worth visiting?

It’s possibly worth a visit for an hour or two but not really worth stopping overnight at in our opinion. Ardara or Donegal Town are much nicer places to base or even Belleek just over the border in Co.

Is Donegal a good place to live?

County scores very highly for its natural amenities and low house prices. Donegal has been ranked third in the first-ever Ireland Liveability Index, which ranks the best places to live in Ireland. Donegal scores very highly for its natural amenities, in second place just behind Kerry.

Where is Donegal?

Located in the northwest corner of Ireland, Donegal is the island’s northernmost county. In terms of size and area, it is the largest county in Ulster and the fourth-largest county in all of Ireland. Uniquely, County Donegal shares a small border with only one other county in the Republic of Ireland – County Leitrim.

What are the best places to visit in southwestern Donegal?

These are our favorite local haunts, touristy spots, and hidden gems throughout Southwestern Donegal. The Cliffs of Moher get more publicity, but the cliffs of Sliabh Liag are higher. In fact, these spectacular sea cliffs are among the highest in Europe, plunging some 600m to the ceaselessly churning sea.

What constituency is Donegal in?

It encompasses the entire county, except for a small area in southern Donegal around Bundoran and Ballyshannon, which is part of the Sligo–Leitrim constituency. Historically, the county was represented in the Parliament of Ireland through the Donegal Borough constituency, which lasted from 1613 to 1800, when the Irish Parliament was abolished.

When was Donegal East and Donegal West formed?

The Government of Ireland Act 1920 reformed the four constituencies into a single entity covering “the administrative county of Donegal”. This was broken up into Donegal East and Donegal West from 1937 to 1977, and into Donegal North-East and Donegal South-West from 1981 to 2016.

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top