What is thoracic vertebra?

What is thoracic vertebra?

The thoracic vertebrae lie in the posterior wall of the thorax with twelve pairs of ribs attached to them. Thoracic vertebrae have bodies of intermediate size. The bodies and processes of thoracic vertebrae in humans are smaller than those of lumbar vertebrae, but larger than those of cervical vertebrae.

What is the sacrum vertebrae?

The sacrum is a shield-shaped bony structure that is located at the base of the lumbar vertebrae and that is connected to the pelvis. The sacrum forms the posterior pelvic wall and strengthens and stabilizes the pelvis.

How many vertebrae are in the sacrum?

The sacrum is made of five fused vertebrae configured as an inverted triangular bone that is concave anteriorly and convex posteriorly. Within the sacrum lies the sacral canal, which is a continuation of the vertebral canal.

What is lumbosacral spine?

A lumbosacral spine x-ray is a picture of the small bones (vertebrae) in the lower part of the spine. This area includes the lumbar region and the sacrum, the area that connects the spine to the pelvis. This is the spine and the sacrum with the cervical (neck), thoracic (mid-back), and lumbar (lower back) vertebra.

What is a Demifacet?

A demifacet is actually half of a facet and is where part of the head of the rib or part of the costal cartilage articulates and these are usually found on ribs 2 through 9. The inferior demifacet of the body of the vertebra receives the head of the rib with a number greater than the number of the vertebra.

What are the 12 thoracic vertebrae?

The thoracic spine has 12 nerve roots (T1 to T12) on each side of the spine that branch from the spinal cord and control motor and sensory signals mostly for the upper back, chest, and abdomen. The thoracic spine (highlighted) spans the upper and mid-back. It includes twelve vertebrae named T1 through T12.

Which vertebrae is closest to the sacrum?

L5, the lowest lumbar vertebra, is closest to the sacrum. L stands for lumbar. The sacral region is composed of five fused sacral vertebrae, labelled S1 to S5. These vertebrae form a solid mass of triangular bone at the bottom of the spine, referred to as the sacrum.

What are the 5 types of vertebrae?

Vertebrae. As mentioned above, our vertebrae are numbered and divided into five regions: cervical, thoracic, lumbar, sacrum, and coccyx.

What is the difference between lumbar spine and lumbosacral?

As adjectives the difference between lumbar and lumbosacral is that lumbar is related to the lower back or loin while lumbosacral is of or pertaining to the lumbar and sacral regions of the back; the small of the back and the back portion of the pelvis.

What is a spine lumbar and sacral MRI?

A lumbar MRI specifically examines the lumbar section of your spine — the region where back problems commonly originate. The lumbosacral spine is made up of the five lumbar vertebral bones (L1 thru L5), the sacrum (the bony “shield” at the bottom of your spine), and the coccyx (tailbone).

What is the difference between Demifacet and costal facet?

Costal facets or demifacets are found on the bodies of the vertebrae. The distinction between facet and demifacet (half a facet) rests upon whether the head of the rib articulates on only one body (facet) or overlaps two (demifacet).

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top