What happened in the 2016 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series?

What happened in the 2016 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series?

The 2016 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series was the 68th season of professional stock car racing in the United States and the 45th modern-era Cup series season. The season began at Daytona International Speedway with the Sprint Unlimited, the Can-Am Duel and the Daytona 500. The season ended with the Ford EcoBoost 400 at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

Where did the 2017 NASCAR season start and end?

The season began at Daytona International Speedway with the Sprint Unlimited, the Can-Am Duel and the Daytona 500. The season ended with the Ford EcoBoost 400 at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

What channel is the NASCAR race on in 2016?

2016 marked the second year of NASCAR’s broadcast deal with Fox and NBC. The first 16 events were broadcast on either Fox or FS1, and the final 20 events were shared between NBC and NBCSN. However, the Cheez-It 355 at Watkins Glen International was aired on USA Network due to NBC’s coverage of the 2016 Summer Olympics.

Who made it to the NASCAR championship race?

With their wins Logano, Johnson, and Edwards made it to the championship race while Kyle Busch made it in on points. Kevin Harvick, Denny Hamlin, Kenseth, and Kurt Busch were eliminated.

What number is Greg Biffle on the 2016 NASCAR schedule?

“No. 88 driver schedule”. NASCAR.com. Retrieved November 21, 2016. ^ Bonkowski, Jerry. “Greg Biffle to be paired with veteran crew chief Brian Pattie in 2016”. nascartalk.nbcsports.com. NBC Sports. Retrieved December 22, 2015.

Will the Olympic Games force NASCAR coverage off NBC?

Retrieved December 23, 2015. ^ Spencer, Lee (January 26, 2016). “Olympics will force some NASCAR coverage off NBC/NBC Sports”. Motorsport.com. Motorsport Network, LLC.

Who is the new title sponsor for NASCAR’s top series?

^ “Monster Energy replaces Sprint as title sponsor for NASCAR’s top series”. USA Today. December 1, 2016. Retrieved December 1, 2016. ^ Pockrass, Bob (August 22, 2015).

Who won the NASCAR race at Homestead?

On the restart, Logano got up to third and the caution came out for Ricky Stenhouse Jr. In an overtime finish, Johnson took the lead from Larson and won the race for his first career victory at Homestead and his seventh Sprint Cup series championship, tying Dale Earnhardt and Richard Petty for most championships all-time.

How did Kurt Busch get the pole for the race?

Busch was able to get the pole due to him being the first seed in “The Chase.” At the start of the race, Busch led the first few laps. Martin Truex Jr. then took the lead from Busch and led for a while. After a caution, Jimmie Johnson stayed off of pit road and assumed the race lead.


What happened to premiumpremium Motorsports?

Premium Motorsports hired Mike Hillman to head up its operations in 2016, bringing over Mark Hillman – who served as the No. 40’s crew chief – and most of the staff from the No. 40 team, therefore shutting that team down on a full-time basis.

Who won the Daytona 500 pole?

Qualifying for the front row of the Daytona 500 took place the following day. Rookie Chase Elliott won the pole, becoming the youngest Daytona 500 pole winner ever at the age of 20 years, 2 months, and 17 days. Matt Kenseth joined Elliott on the front row by qualifying second.

Who led the most laps in a NASCAR race?

Truex won the race to set the record for most laps led in a race at Charlotte and most miles led in a NASCAR race by leading for 588 miles. Truex was followed across the finish line by Kevin Harvick, Jimmie Johnson, Denny Hamlin, and Brad Keselowski. Brad Keselowski won the pole for the race.

Who won the NASCAR race at Darlington?

Dale Earnhardt Jr. led the most laps and won the first duel race. The second duel race was won by Kyle Busch ahead of a last-lap crash that involved multiple drivers including Jimmie Johnson, Martin Truex Jr., and polesitter Kenseth.


Who won the NASCAR race at Martinsville?

Kyle Busch led the most laps and went on to win the race, his first career win at Martinsville and completing the weekend sweep as he won the Camping World Truck Series race the day before. Kyle Busch was followed by A. J. Allmendinger, Kyle Larson, Austin Dillon, and Brad Keselowski.


Who finished third in the 2016 NASCAR Xfinity Series championship?

Justin Allgaier finished third in the championship. Erik Jones finished fourth in the championship. The 2016 NASCAR Xfinity Series was the 35th season of the Xfinity Series, a stock car racing series sanctioned by the NASCAR in the United States.

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top