What country has 10 provinces and 3 territories?

What country has 10 provinces and 3 territories?

As a country, Canada has ten provinces and three territories. These subdivisions vary widely in both land and water area. The largest subdivision by land area is the territory of Nunavut. The largest subdivision by water area is the province of Quebec.

What are Canada’s 10 territories?

Provinces and territories

  • Alberta.
  • British Columbia.
  • Manitoba.
  • New Brunswick.
  • Newfoundland and Labrador.
  • Northwest Territories.
  • Nova Scotia.
  • Nunavut.

What are 3 territories of Canada?

Although they are legally distinct jurisdictions, Canada’s three territories of Yukon, the Northwest Territories, and Nunavut are granted their powers through federal legislation instead of through the Canadian constitution.

What are the 3 territories of Canada and their capital cities?

Origin of the names of Canada’s provincial and territorial…

  • Ottawa, Canada.
  • St. John’s, Newfoundland and Labrador.
  • Halifax, Nova Scotia.
  • Fredericton, New Brunswick.
  • Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island.
  • Québec, Quebec.
  • Toronto, Ontario.
  • Winnipeg, Manitoba.

What are provinces and territories of Canada?

The provinces are, in alphabetical order: Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, Ontario, Prince Edward Island, Quebec, and Saskatchewan. The three territories are Northwest Territories, Nunavut, and Yukon.

What were territories?

Historically, territories were created to administer newly acquired land, and most eventually attained statehood. Others, such as the Philippines, the Federated States of Micronesia, the Marshall Islands, and Palau, later became independent. Many organized, incorporated territories existed from 1789 to 1959.

What are the 13 provinces and territories of Canada abbreviations?


Province/Territory Standard abbreviations English/French Standard geographical classification (SGC) code
Nova Scotia N.S./N.-É. 12
New Brunswick N.B./N.-B. 13
Quebec Que./Qc 24
Ontario Ont./Ont. 35

Where are the provinces in Canada?


Flag, name, and postal abbr. Cities
Ontario ON Toronto
Quebec QC Montreal
Nova Scotia NS Halifax

What are the 10 provinces in Canada?

1 Alberta. Alberta is one of Canada’s western provinces and is the country’s fourth-most populated province. 2 British Columbia. 3 Manitoba. 4 New Brunswick. 5 Newfoundland and Labrador. 6 Nova Scotia. 7 Ontario. 8 Prince Edward Island. 9 Quebec. 10 Saskatchewan.

What are the 3 Canadian territories?

The Northwest Territories, the Yukon and Nunavut are Canada’s three territories. Why was Canada divided into Upper and Lower Canada? The two colonies were created in 1791 with the passage of the Constitutional Act 1791.

Which is the smallest territory in Canada?

Canada’s Territories 1 Northwest Territories. Canada’s Northwest Territories are home to only 40,000 or so people. The province has wide open spaces distinguished by mountains and forests. 2 Nunavut. Nunavut is the newest territory in Canada. 3 Yukon. The Yukon is the smallest and most western territory of Canada, bordering Alaska.

What is the westernmost province in Canada?

British Columbia. British Columbia is Canada’s westernmost province, and it is slightly larger than Alberta in terms of population, with a population of around 4.8 million people. It is located on North America’s West Coast, between the Rocky Mountains and the Pacific Ocean.

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top